Test levels or levels of testing 

 18 March 2021

Like it?
Share!

Test levels are a very practical model for structuring test activities. Each of these test level covers a different part of the software and the development context.

What are test levels?

The ISTQB defines test level as "A specific instantiation of a test process." This sounds quite abstract at first. Of course, there is a test process at each level. I don't think that does justice to the importance of test stages. For me, test stages are a core element of a test strategy. Why? The test levels differ massively from each other:

  • You are looking at completely different areas of the software
  • The testers have very different tasks depending on test level
  • Test objectives, infrastructure, test data, framework conditions and scheduling differ greatly from each other

Each test level is an important piece of the puzzle for quality success and should not be neglected.

A synonym for test level is test level.

What are the test levels?

The classic levels are: unit testing, integration testing, system testing and acceptance testing. Integrations can take place at different levels, but they are tested differently. Therefore, there is still the distinction between component-integration testing and system-integration testing. The levels build logically on each other, which is also the basis for the development of this model:

  • Unit tests (or module or component tests) test the smallest units in the software for themselves
  • Component integration tests test the interaction of these units
  • System tests test the integrated overall system for itself
  • System integration tests test the interaction of several systems
  • Acceptance tests test the complete system including interfaces in order to enable system acceptance

This classification makes sense in most projects, but of course it has to be adapted to the circumstances.

Difference between test levels and the test pyramid

In Agile Testing we often use a model by Mike Cohn: The Test Pyramid. If you put it next to the test levels, you can't deny a similarity. The test pyramid also distinguishes between different levels. In the original version there were unit testing, Service Test and UI Tests. In the meantime, there are also countless derivatives of these. The test pyramid focuses more on the aspect of test automation:

  • Lower test levels have more test cases than higher test levels
  • Lower test levels are faster than the higher ones
  • The degree of integration increases towards the higher test levels.

I know developers who use both models and sometimes combine them. Like the test levels, the test pyramid is a concept with a few drawers. In everyday life, these models have to be questioned again and again.

In practice

For me, test levels are a cornerstone of the test strategy. At the beginning of a project, I always consider them in combination with the test types. This results in a matrix from which a large part of the test activities can be derived. This is an important point of reference for both classic and agile software development.


Functionality

Efficiency

Usability

...

Unit Testing

x

x


Cell

Components-integration testing

x



Cell

System Testing

x

x

x

Cell

...



Cell
Cell

There are always two "aha" moments for everyone involved:
  1. The difference between the levels. It is a big difference whether I define and implement unit tests or system tests. Even if these are developed in the same framework, such as JUnit. The tool is the same, but the test cases could not be more different and cover completely different views of the application.
  2. The combination with the test types. Especially non-functional tests are often neglected. This can lead to massive problems. An example: Performance tests are only carried out towards the end of the project. These reveal architectural weaknesses. Now it costs a lot of money and time to solve these structural problems. The combination with the test levels creates awareness at an early stage. What could robustness at unit test level look like? Efficiency in integration tests? Reliability in system tests?

Test levels bring structure and clarity to software tests in everyday project work. I experience this time and time again. Another advantage: This clarity can be achieved quickly. An overview of the test levels and test types relevant to the project can be created in an initial workshop. The added value of this is very high, a quick win for every project.

Do you like this post? Share it:

Teststufen oder Testebenen 

 18. März 2021

Gefällt?
Teile
gerne!

Teststufen sind ein sehr praktikables Modell, um Testaktivitäten zu strukturieren. Jede dieser Teststufe deckt dabei einen anderen Teil der Software und dem Entwicklungskontext ab.

Was sind Teststufen?

Das ISTQB definiert Teststufe als "Eine spezifische Instanziierung eines Testprozesses." Das klingt im ersten Moment recht abstrakt. Natürlich ist auf jeder Stufe ein Testprozess vorhanden. Ich finde, das wird der Bedeutung der Teststufen nicht gerecht. Teststufen sind für mich ein Kernelement einer Teststrategie. Warum? Die Teststufen unterscheiden sich massiv voneinander:

  • Sie betrachten komplett unterschiedliche Bereiche der Software
  • Die Tester haben je Teststufe ganz verschiedene Aufgaben
  • Testziele, Infrastruktur, Testdaten, Rahmenbedingungen und Zeitplanung weichen stark voneinander ab

Jede Teststufe ist ein wichtiges Puzzleteil für den Qualitätserfolg und sollte nicht vernachlässigt werden.

Ein Synonym für Teststufe ist Testebene.

Welche Teststufen gibt es?

Die klassischen Stufen sind: Unittest, Integrationstest, Systemtest und Abnahmetest. Integrationen können auf verschiedenen Ebenen stattfinden, die aber unterschiedlich getestet werden. Daher gibt es hier noch die Unterscheidung zwischen Komponenten-Integrationstest und System-Integrationstest. Die Ebenen bauen logisch aufeinander auf, worauf auch die Entstehung dieses Modells beruht:

Diese Einteilung macht in den meisten Projekten Sinn, ist aber natürlich an die Gegebenheiten anzupassen.

Unterschied zwischen Teststufen und der Testpyramide

Im Agile Testing verwenden wir häufig ein Modell von Mike Cohn: Die Testpyramide. Legt man sie neben die Teststufen lässt sich eine Ähnlichkeit nicht leugnen. Die Testpyramide unterscheidet auch verschiedene Ebenen. In der ursprünglichen Variante waren es Unittest, Service Test und UI Tests. Mittlerweile gibt es dazu auch unzählige Derivate. Die Testpyramide fokussiert mehr auf den Aspekt der Testautomatisierung:

  • Untere Testebenen haben mehr Testfälle als höhere Testebenen
  • Untere Testebenen sind schneller als die höheren
  • Der Integrationsgrad nimmt zu den höheren Testebenen zu.

Ich kenne Entwickler, die beide Modelle nutzen und zum Teil auch kombinieren. Wie auch die Teststufen ist die Testpyramide ein Konzept mit ein paar Schubladen. Im Alltag müssen diese Modell immer wieder hinterfragt werden.

In der Praxis

Für mich sind Teststufen ein Grundpfeiler der Teststrategie. Ich betrachte Sie zu Beginn eines Projektes in immer in Kombination mit den Testarten. Daraus ergibt sich eine Matrix, aus der sich ein Großteil der Testaktivitäten ableiten lässt. Das ist sowohl für klassische als auch für agile Softwareentwicklung ein wichtiger Anhaltspunkt.


Funktionalität

Effizienz

Usability

...

Unittest

x

x


Cell

Komponenten-Integrationstest

x



Cell

Systemtest

x

x

x

Cell

...



Cell
Cell

Bei allen Beteiligten gibt es dann immer wieder zwei Aha-Momente:
  1. Die Unterschiedlichkeit der Stufen. Es ist eben ein großer Unterschied, ob ich Unittests oder Systemtests definiere und umsetze. Selbst wenn diese im gleichen Framework entwickelt werden, wie z.B. JUnit. Das Tool ist das gleiche, aber die Testfälle könnten unterschiedlicher nicht sein und decken komplett andere Sichtweisen auf die Applikation ab.
  2. Die Kombination mit den Testarten. Gerade nicht-funktionale Tests werden oft vernachlässigt. Das kann zu massiven Problemen führen. Ein Beispiel: Erst gegen Ende das Projekts werden Performancetests durchgeführt. Diese zeigen Architektur-Schwächen auf. Nun kostet es viel Geld und Zeit diese strukturellen Probleme zu lösen. Die Kombi mit den Teststufen schafft hierfür schon frühzeitig Awareness. Wie könnte z.B. Robustheit auf Unittestebene aussehen? Effizienz bei Integrationstests? Zuverlässigkeit bei Systemtests?

Teststufen bringen im Projektalltag Struktur und Klarheit in die Software-Tests. Das erlebe ich immer wieder. Ein weiterer Vorteil: Diese Klarheit ist schnell zu erreichen. Einen Überblick über die für das Projekt relevanten Teststufen und Testarten lässt sich schon in einem ersten Workshop schaffen. Der Mehrwert davon sehr groß, ein Quick-Win für jedes Projekt.

Gefällt Dir der Beitrag? Dann teile ihn: