Agile Manifesto is 20 - Happy Birthday 

 8 March 2021

Like it?
Share!

So it's been 20 years since the cornerstone of the "Manifesto for Agile Software Development" was laid at a ski lodge in Utah: the Agile Manifesto. A lot has happened since then. Even though some agile ideas were thought of decades before, the Manifesto is a milestone. It inspired two decades of software development and has now completely left this framework. So agile is used in every context: in business management, leadership, marketing, hardware, logistics as well as in the daily planning of families. Non-profits, social services and schools are also experimenting with it. Of course, because agility is in many ways a possible answer to the challenges of our days, such as uncertainty and complexity.

All that glitters is not agile

Where there is light, there is also shadow. When I observe the world, the companies I work with and the market that has emerged around Agile, there is also a lot that one can only wonder about, shaking one's head. Sometimes I wonder: is this serious now? Satire? A joke? Only to realize with disillusionment: Oh... sadly, no.

Agile is a hype driven by villages and staff meetings. There is money behind it. A lot of money. A huge market. Inevitably, blossoms of every stripe are created. And just as many answers as definitions to the question: What actually is Agile? - A mindset? A product? Methods? Or tools?

Gurus, dogmas and products

I notice an inner resistance in myself when I encounter the following in the agile space:

  • Agile gurus - agile facts, this way and no other, no alternative. Is that agile? I prefer to stick with physicist, cyberneticist and philosopher Heinz von Foerster: "Truth is the invention of a liar.
  • Dogma - do it unthinkingly because that's how it's done. Period. A Daily MUST last 15 minutes and there MUST be standing while doing it. No talking back. Stand up! Rituals and rules are fine as long as they don't become ends in themselves.
  • Buying agility - people like it simple, preferably in drawers. Fortunately, there are models and products. Brain off, buy. And quite honestly: that can be a good start. But it's fatal if it stays that way. No development. No improvement. No idea outside the model. Loosely based on Watzlawick: if you only have a hammer, all problems are nails and virologists see viruses everywhere.

The only true definition of agility

Here it comes - not. Unfortunately, I don't know the one true definition either. And in my opinion, it is not necessary, because it is in the nature of agile to be dynamic.

Over the years, I have formed my personal view of it and that is, in short: agility is a mindset, an attitude with which a company and also each individual can navigate through this complex, uncertain world and grow in the process. Based on values that are conducive to this: openness, appreciation, courage, responsibility,...

All the tools and frameworks around are best practices that embody that. But they are also best practices of others. And whether they work for you, your team or your company can only be found out through one thing: testing, feedback, reflection, next step. And that's how your own, individual, agile path emerges.

Babumm. That's it. For me. Not for many. Don't take my word for it. Make up your own mind. Your own definition. Step by step. Let yourself be inspired. And maybe one day all the positive, agile values will be so integrated into our everyday life that we won't even need the label "agile" anymore. Then we celebrate something else.

Happy Birthday agile manifesto!

Do you like this post? Share it:

Agile Manifesto ist 20 – Happy Birthday 

 8. März 2021

Gefällt?
Teile
gerne!

20 Jahre ist es also her, dass auf einer Skihütte in Utah der Grundstein für das “Manifest für Agile Softwareentwicklung” gelegt wurde: das Agile Manifesto. Seitdem ist viel passiert. Auch wenn manche agile Idee schon Jahrzehnte davor gedacht wurde, ist das Manifest ein Meilenstein. Es hat zwei Jahrzehnte Softwareentwicklung inspiriert und mittlerweile diesen Rahmen komplett verlassen. So wird Agilität in jeglichem Kontext genutzt: in Unternehmensführung, Leadership, Marketing, Hardware, Logistik ebenso wie in der Alltagsplanung von Familien. Auch Non-Profit-Unternehmen, Sozialwesen und Schulen experimentieren damit. Natürlich, denn Agilität ist in vielerlei Hinsicht eine mögliche Antwort auf Herausforderungen unserer Tage wie Unsicherheit und Komplexität.

Es ist nicht alles agil, was glänzt

Wo Licht ist, ist auch Schatten. Wenn ich die Welt beobachte, die Unternehmen mit denen ich arbeite und den Markt, der rund um Agile entstanden ist, gibt es auch viel, worüber man sich nur kopfschüttelnd wundern kann. Manchmal frage ich mich: Ist das jetzt ernst gemeint? Satire? Ein Jux? Um dann ernüchtert festzustellen: Oh… leider nein.

Agilität ist ein Hype, der durch Dörfer und Mitarbeiter-Meetings getrieben wird. Dahinter steckt Geld. Sehr viel Geld. Ein Riesenmarkt. Da entstehen zwangsläufig Blüten jeder Couleur. Und ebenso viele Antworten wie Definitionen auf die Frage: Was ist eigentlich Agile? – Ein Mindset? Ein Produkt? Methoden? Oder Tools?

Gurus, Dogmen und Produkte

Ich merke in mir selbst einen inneren Widerstand, wenn ich im agilen Space Folgendem begegne:

  • Agile Gurus – agile Fakten, so und nicht anders, alternativlos. Ist das agil? Da halte ich es lieber mit Physiker, Kybernetiker und Philosoph Heinz von Foerster: “Wahrheit ist die Erfindung eines Lügners.”
  • Dogmen – unreflektiert machen, weil es so gemacht wird. Punkt. Ein Daily MUSS 15 Minuten dauern und es MUSS gestanden werden dabei. Keine Widerrede. Aufstehen! Rituale und Regeln sind gut, solange sie nicht zum Selbstzweck geraten.
  • Agilität kaufen – Menschen mögen es gern einfach, am liebsten in Schubladen. Zum Glück gibts ja Modelle und Produkte. Hirn aus, kaufen. Und ganz ehrlich: das kann ein guter Start sein. Fatal aber, wenn es dabei bleibt. Keine Entwicklung. Kein Verbessern. Keine Idee außerhalb des Modells. Frei nach Watzlawick: wenn Du nur einen Hammer hast, sind alle Probleme Nägel und Virologen sehen Viren überall.

Die einzig wahre Definition von Agilität

Jetzt kommt’s – nicht. Die einzig wahre Definition kenne ich leider auch nicht. Und meiner Meinung nach braucht es die auch nicht, denn es liegt im Wesen des agilen, dynamisch zu sein.

Über die Jahre habe ich mir meine persönliche Sichtweise darauf gebildet und die ist kurzum: Agilität ist ein Mindset, eine Haltung, mit der ein Unternehmen und auch jeder einzelne durch diese komplexe, unsichere Welt navigieren und dabei wachsen kann. Basierend auf dafür förderlichen Werten: Offenheit, Wertschätzung, Mut, Verantwortung,…

All die Tools und Frameworks rundherum sind Best Practices, die das verkörpern. Aber sie sind auch Best Practices anderer. Und ob sie für einen Selbst, das Team oder ein Unternehmen funktionieren lässt sich nur durch Eines herausfinden: ausprobieren, Feedback, Reflexion, nächster Schritt. Und so entsteht ein eigener, individueller, agiler Weg.

Babumm. That’s it. Für mich. Für viele nicht. Glauben Sie mir nicht! Machen Sie sich ihre eigenen Gedanken. Ihre eigene Definition. Step by Step. Lassen Sie sich inspirieren. Und vielleicht sind irgendwann all die positiven, agilen Werte so in unseren Alltag integriert, dass wir das Label “Agilität” gar nicht mehr brauchen. Dann feiern wir was anderes.

Happy Birthday agiles Manifest!

Gefällt Dir der Beitrag? Dann teile ihn: